1/101: And So It Begins

I celebrated both my birthday and the big 101/1001 kick-off by crossing off the most festive ‘to-do’ on my list:

Make Red Velvet Cupcakes.

I’ve always loved to bake.  Cookies?  Easy.  Quick bread?  Delicious.  Muffins and scones?  From scratch.  Every time.

The one shame in my baking repertoire?  Cake.  Oh.  I’ve make plenty… but every single one has been from a box.  I don’t see anything wrong with this… but I always wanted to try to make a cake from scratch.

So why Red Velvet?

I first became aware of Red Velvet Cake on New Year’s Day 1990.  My parents were watching Steel Magnolias and I was supposed to be playing or napping or something that wasn’t sitting in the den doorway and watching that movie.  Although I don’t know the actual context (that was the only time I watched the movie) I do know that it features a Red Velvet Armadillo Cake.  I was both horrified and amazed.

Flash forward a couple of years and Red Velvet Cake seem to be everywhere… in cupcakes/yogurt/ice cream/candies.

I don’t get it.  Sure, red is very pretty, but in a world of dark chocolate and French Vanilla (and everything in between)… why?  The couple of times I’ve tried it, I found it meh.  So I decided to try it on my own.

Let me say I had no idea how much red food coloring is involved in RVC.  That whole bottle = just HALF of what the recipe originally called for (I only made half the recipe).

I wanted to love it… but it is just so red.  I mean how is this different than green milk on St. Patrick’s Day (which I loved… when I was eight).

A mess… good thing I had plenty of time to clean up while the cupcakes were baking… and filling my apartment with a sweet smell.

It’s just so… red.

Finished product!

Did I mention I made the frosting as well?  Complete FAIL.  Also something I’d never done before but it was such anEPIC FAILURE that it doesn’t deserve repeating.

All in all, it was fun.  I liked making a cake from scratch, although I don’t plan to doing it again anytime soon.

This entry was posted in 101/1001, Cupcakes, To Make/Bake and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 1/101: And So It Begins

  1. Pingback: 2/101 – What’s In a Name? « Balloons on a Bookmark

Leave a Reply

