2/101 – What’s In a Name?

First of all, should I address the fact that the first two items that I crossed off my digital list were also the sugariest?

Nah.

Yesterday, my friend Shelly and were making plans to catch up.  So many questions– where do we go? what shall we do?   Besides the fact that it was a Tuesday and if there’s a dull day of the week, it’s usually Tuesday, right?

Nevertheless, I pulled out my handy-dandy 101/1001 list and suggested meeting for gelato.

Yes, I could have cropped this picture, but it serves as a reminder of how lonely this place was… at 7:30pm.  Again, it was Tuesday.

So… gelato.  Much like the Red Velvet Cupcakes, I’ve heard of it, I just never tried it.  And whenever I’ve heard of it, it is always so pretentious.  We can’t  just can’t call it ice cream it’s gelaaaaato.

The thing is, to me, it looks like ice cream.  Once I tasted it, I realized that, yup, it tastes like ice cream.  I’ll admit–absolutely delicious ice cream.  But still ice cream.

So I researched the differences (and by research, I checked wikipedia)… and although I read the words, they didn’t mean much to me.  It tasted good.  That’s all that matters.

The thing is, though,  Shelly and I went out of our way to meet here.  We could have gone anywhere and done anything.  But the very fact that this frozen dessert was called gelaaato brought us here made it an event.  We went out for gelaaaato!

If it was the same exact dessert, but called ice cream, would it have made a difference?  I don’t know.  But it doesn’t matter– because sometimes, Tuesday should be an event.

This entry was posted in To Eat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

