No Progress – Holiday Baking

Growing up, my mom, sister, and I would bake for Christmas.  Our repertoire included:

-Chocolate Crinckles

-Peanut Butter Blossoms

-Sickerdoodles

-Lemon Bars

-7 Layer Bars

… and at least one or two other new cookies we’d try just for fun.  Did I mention we would always double (or triple!) the recipes?

So yeah, I like to make Christmas Cookies and I like to think I’m pretty decent at it.  When I was in college, my go-to Christmas gift was Chocolate Crinkles.  I’d make a batch and BAM Christmas gifts for every roommate/coworker/random friend who decided to exchange gifts.  This technique worked well post college, until I got dreams of doing something different.

I’ve seen this nifty recipe floating around the interwebs.  It seemed cheap (it’s not) it seemed easy (it’s not).

Here’s what I did: I placed caramel kisses on square-shaped pretzels, stuck them in the oven on ‘warm’ for 8 minutes, then stuck a holiday colored M&M.

Problem?  The kisses didn’t want to melt into the kisses.  If I pushed too hard with the M&M the caramel kind of exploded everywhere.  A mess, to say the least.

I should have stuck with cookies.

This entry was posted in No Progress. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

