3/101 – Cheaper than a Ticket to Paris

One of my favorite books as a kid was Linnea in Monet’s Garden.

(source)

The basic summary is that Linnea and her neighbor, Mr. Bloom, visit Monet’s house (and garden) and see where they actual places that Monet painted.

I read it when I was in first grade… and I like to say that everything I know about art I learned from Linnea, including an appreciate of art.  Even if I have no clue about what I’m looking at or why it’s important.

So when I found out about this awesome exhibit, I knew it was something I wanted to go see.

The problem was that I get these ideas a lot… I read or hear about some limited time, amazing opportunity… then POOF!  It’s packed up, moved out, and I’ve let the chance to see/do/go pass.  I was determined to not let that that happen with the de Orsay exhibit.  After all, if I missed it, I’d have to go all the way to Paris to catch it again.

Lucky for me, a friend was organizing a group to go.  I normally thrive on having some funny or snarky or sarcastic story to explain an adventure like this, but I don’t.  It was just absolutely awesome.   It was an (unusually) sunny, clear day in the City.  The people were fantastic.  The art was… well, as I mentioned before, all I know about art is from Linnea so I really don’t have the vocabulary to explain.

This entry was posted in 101/1001, Books, To Go and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

