6/101–Print it, Frame it, Hang it

I can be pretty lazy. 

So lazy, in fact, that I can live in a space for a year and never hang anything on the walls.  Or, worse, hang something on the walls, look at it for year, decide I hate it, and not do a single thing to change it.

009002

I have no idea how long my tenure in my current apartment will be, but  I’d like the walls I look at to be a bit more deliberate in their dressing.

Let’s start at the beginning:

apt 023

I did a bit of rearranging and Ikea shopping and got here:

Apartment   Worrell Party 018

Not bad for $100 at Ikea and an afternoon of assembly; however, I wasn’t sure what to do with my shelves.  Here’s a closer look:

Apartment   Worrell Party 018

Pretty much a bunch of miscellany, including a coin jar, old jewelry box, and pictures of people I haven’t talked to in years.

Because I’m fairly decent at copying other people’s good ideas, I knew what I wanted to do.  Last spring, I noticed some really prints in my friend’s apartment.  I liked them, because they weren’t the typical pictures that every other person seems to have acquired sometime during college and still clings to (cough::singingbutler::cough… which I actually really like). 

Anyway, she explained that they were pictures she took from places she’s traveled to.  She’s traveled much more extensively than me, but I’m off to a good start:

Lisa Graduates 001060410 NYC 060Arboretum 006Wicked 037

I’m not much one for looking at pictures of people or even documenting events (as witnessed by the poor job I’m doing photographing this project!), but I have to admit it’s nice to look up after an exhausting day and remember that I do have a life.

Walls 010

…and, as a bonus, I also hung up a map on cork board.  I’ve always wanted to mark the places I’ve been/places I want to go.  Yea interesting walls! 

Walls 017

This entry was posted in 101/1001, To Do and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

