Oscar Watch

I don’t watch the Superbowl.  I’m not against it.  I just don’t watch it.

I don’t watch the Emmys, the Grammys, or the Golden Globes.  I don’t watch the World Series or the Masters Tournament.  I’m trying to come with other TV events that everyone watches then dominates water cooler conversation the next day, but I’m drawing a blank.  Probably because I just don’t watch big TV events.

Like the Superbowl, I’m not against them, I just don’t watch.

There’s two major exceptions.  The Academy Awards is one of them.

source

I at least started watching was when I was in third grade.  I know this, because that was year Anna Paquin won and her hat irritated me.  I may have watched before that, but that’s my first specific memory.

Every year since, I’ve cleared my schedule to make sure I’d be homework/work/activity/chore free to watch.  I start at 3pm PST and flip back and forth between E! and TV Guide Channel to get all of the pre-show coverage.  Throughout the broadcast I update my scorecard.  I read all the reviews the following day.  I talk about it for the following week.

Here’s the funny thing.  I’m not that into movies or movie stars.

In fact, I’m so not into movies I think I saw about 10 movies total in all of 2010.  That includes a double viewing of Harry Potter (AWESOME!). Also Twilight and Leap Year (not awesome).

A movie maven I am not.

That’s why I wanted to challenge myself to watch all ten Best Picture nominees.  This year seemed as good as any.  After all, I hadn’t see one of the nominees (see above for my refined taste) and I wasn’t opposed to any of the nominees (I don’t think I could have made it through The Reader).

Unsurprisingly, I don’t have quite the vocabulary to critique these films, so I’ll be following the below rubric.  I doubt my results will match the actual Oscar results, but that’s not why I’m watching.

Balloons on a Bookmark Scientific Evaluation:

Awesome Actors: x/25

I’m not looking for pedigree, here.  Disney Channel, ‘90s sitcom, WB… this is what I value.

GPS: x/25

It’s pretty simple: I like movies that I can follow without getting lost.

Ugly Cry: x/25

I’m not a crier, so bonus points if a movie gets me to tear up/laugh/gasp.

Visual Appeal: x/25

I love pretty movies… fifty percent of why Father of the Bride is one of my favorite movies is house.

Anticipation: x/20

Points for any interest I had in the movie prior to watching it.  I work in marketing, so I feel it’s important to give credit where credit is due.

Lingering Thoughts: x/10

If a movie leaves you life changing ideas, this is a very good thing.

If a movie leaves you with unanswered questions, this is a very bad thing

Unexpected Expectations: x/15

If a movie exceeds my expectations, it’s good.

If it fails, it’s bad

Movie Poster: x/5

Enough said.

Snack: x/5

Food is good and makes movies better.

General Viewing Experience: x/5

Enough said.

Overall Thoughts: x/45

Overall movie… anything that doesn’t fit in elsewhere.

Total: x/200

This entry was posted in 101/1001, To Watch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

