14/101—A Dip

The saying about the how the cobbler’s children have no shoes?

Totally true.

My dad worked at a lake my entire childhood. 

My parents took me on some lovely vacations. 

We never vacationed a lake.

Granted, we were lucky enough to live a short drive to the Pacific Ocean, Sierra Nevadas, and Disneyland.  I’m not complaining.  We went to many fabulous places, but never a lake.

So, at age 26, I had never swam in a lake.

Sure, at church camp I swam in a creek.  I’ve cleaned my feet off in a stream.  Just not a lake.

So this August, when I got the chance to go camping and hiking in Tahoe National Park I jumped at it.  Not just because I adored the group attending, but because this was my chance.

DSCN0341

We hiked up to Loch Leven Lakes.

DSCN0349

I had research and studied up on so many other aspects of the trip, I didn’t take a look at the hike.  I trusted the group.  I’d done some day hikes before.  In fact, I always recommend Taft Point to people going to Yosemite.  I never claimed to be an outdoorsman, but I’m no couch potato.

DSCN0366

This was no Taft Point.  There were switch backs and massive altitude changes.  There were randomly marked trails. 

DSCN0373

I thought I was going to die.

But I didn’t.  And the lakes?

DSCN0364

Awe-inspiring.  I wish I had a better vocabulary to describe them.  Or camera to photograph them.

My first swim?  Amazing.  (I’m on the left)

DSCN0359

Will I do it again?  Only with better shoes and better preparation.

This entry was posted in 101/1001, To Do, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

